Meet the new Advisory Board and the new co-chair

The new Advisory Board was elected during the XIV UBC General Conference in Växjö back in October 2017. The Advisory Board consists of 12 experts from our member cities. The role of the Advisory Board is to support UBC Sustainable Cities Commission and the secretariat in its actions by bringing national and theme related expertise and recommendations in project related activities.

The Advisory Board supports the Commission also in finding important themes and topics for the Sustainable Cities Bulletin and UBC Sustainable Cities Commission meetings by proposing project themes and commenting on urgent and policy related issues.


Furthermore, our Commission also got a new co-chair - Irena Sakaliene from City of Klaipeda, Lithuania, will be acting as the third co-chair of UBC Sustainable Cities Commission from the end of 2017 onward. Irena acts as the Head of City Amenities Division in City of Klaipeda - she is responsible for ensuring the implementation of Klaipeda's Environmental and Sustainable Development policy. 

Congratulations and best of luck to Irena!